PDA

View Full Version : Newbie from the Northland

Wisco
02-23-2011, 09:17 AM
Hello everyone,

I want a ZHP. There I said it.

I am a 40-ish married father of 3 and used to drive a Minivan:p. I finally moved onto a sensible sedan that has served us well as the kids spilled drinks and ground food into the seats. But I'm also a driver who wants to enjoy the simple pleasure of flying along a country road with the windows open with the sound of the motor as the sountrack.

A friend of ours has an e46 M3, and after driving it I finally "got it". His M3 was a great balance of supercar and practical. I initially thought about looking for a used M3, but this same friend said that an M3 would not be a good BMW "starting point". He suggested a ZHP. So after some research, I have narrowed my search to a:

Low miles ZHP... say under 30-35K. Clean as a whistle inside and out, the proverbial "cherry" car. I want to drive and keep this car as a daily driver for many years to come.
6MT
Prefer 330i sedan, but could take a 330ci coupe
Completed Inspection I and fixed VANOS issues
Cold weather package / Heated seats.... I live in Wisconsin. Nuff said.
Fold-down rear seats
Prefer red/blue exterior. Would prefer not to have black/silver exterior.
Willing to travel to pick up, or have shipped rom SoCal or wherever

Budget $20-$25K, maybe a wee bit higher.... Honda money, but I want a ZHP. Am I crazy?

Hope to have some fun and learn before pulling the trigger. Plan to buy in the next 3-6 months... no rush.

Regards,

Wisco

Marcus-SanDiego
02-23-2011, 09:25 AM
First, welcome to the site. Glad to have you.

With your budget, you are golden. You'll be calling the shots. You will find anything you'd like to find. There are a lot of imola red ZHPs out there -- so you are good.

Fold-down seats were standard in the coupe. Not sure about the sedan.