PDA

View Full Version : just another sunroof-less ZHP autocross STX build and events chronicle

GoGators
01-26-2015, 04:30 AM

So… I am going to start this thread to chronicle autocross events in my project ZHP. Going to detail modifications, post setups and videos and whatever else in hopes of getting more of the ZHP/BMW community to get out there and use their cars!!! I am no expert though either, so look forward to constructive feedback too.

I started with a ’01 330i ZSP, black 330 in pictures below. I sold it with 320k miles in 2013. Bought the IR ZHP specifically as an upgrade for autocross, but also as a semi-day driver.

The ZHP is a sunroof delete- sunroof option was not selected, nearly 100% of US-bound E46s have sunroof as a standard option. No sunroof means ~2” more of helmet space, more rigid chassis and no sunroof mechanism weight at that high CG.

I run SCCA solo II in class STX. I run with Buccaneer Region of SCCA, aka JaxSolo. But, I typically run with a few other groups in FL and south GA. 2014 will be my 4th year in the sport.

Over the course of time, I have done nearly every modification to the car (some taken off my previous 330i prior to selling it) allowed in STX.

Modifications/Maintenance:

DRIVETRAIN:
BMW update of DME
Dr Vanos rebuilt VANOS
Shark Tune
Underdrive pulleys
K&N filter
B&M short shifter
Holed intake filter box (with fog light removed, there is a distinct path for fresh air)
SS Braided Brake lines
TMS Drilled rotors
TMS wheel stud conversion
TMS Clutch hose, CDV delete

SUSPENSION:
Vorschlag camber plates
Yellow Konis
Eibach springs (650lb front, 550lb rear)
GC adjustable spring perches
Hotchkis Sway bars
GC sway bar endlinks
Fabricated strut tower brace
Fabricated shock tower brace
Repositioned Pos battery terminal
Jam nut on steering rod end links (additional safety considering frequent adjustment)
Poly FCAB
ECS rear lower control arm
Wavetrac LSD
Poly Diff Bushing

OTHER: