PDA

View Full Version : Help with Suspension Refresh at 50k miles/10 years

BMWCurves
06-09-2015, 04:38 PM
NOTE: for those looking to find my final parts list, scroll down a bit through this first post.

I'm really new to suspension work and am a little overwhelmed with the loads of information and options available so I'm hoping someone can help me narrow down some things or at least point me in the right direction. Later this summer I plan to swap out my original shocks and struts for Koni Yellows (Sport). The original shocks and struts have only 50k miles on them but they've been on there for 10 years and it seems that a fair number of people believe that the original Sachs shocks/struts are only good for 40-50k miles so I'm guessing they're due to be changed anyways. My current plan:

Koni Yellow (Sport) shocks and struts (on sale for $498 from Race Consulting Agency)
Keep using the original springs
BMW Strut tower reinforcement plates (part no. 51717036781)
Rogue Engineering Rear Shock Mounts (http://www.rogueengineering.com/rogue/S_BUSH/RSM.html)

Now for the questions! First, since I'm only at 50k miles but 10 years on original equipment, I'm not sure what else I should replace while I'm doing the above parts. Should I assume I should also replace the following:

Strut mounts
Front and rear bump stops
Upper and lower spring pads
Dust boots (do these come with the Konis)?

If so, are there specific brands I should look for, or is OEM sufficient? Is there anything I am missing? I plan to do various bushings later and will post back here with questions about those.