PDA

View Full Version : Sorry, asking a dumb question about lights.

Icebergap
03-31-2016, 03:18 AM
Hey guys, I need some help here. I'm new to ZHPs and (althought they are old now) newer bmw's. I've always owned e36s. Anyways, can someone explain to me like I'm 5 years old about my headlights please.

My issue is this, the lenses are so dirty they are un-cleanable and I can barely see any light. I want to know what my options are here, I don't want to buy cheap lights to put in. It's a 2005 ZHP. The light output seems ok other than the dirty lenses, I keep reading about "burnt bowls" which I am not familiar with, also the car needing to be coded if you go from xenon to halogen or vice versa. Can someone provide me some input? Thanks!

az3579
03-31-2016, 03:29 AM
Do you have a coupe/convertible or a sedan?

All assuming you have Xenons:
If a sedan, your problem is most likely burnt bowls, as in the ZKW projector bowl plastic is burnt and doesn't reflect light well enough.

If a coupe/convertible, you do not have the burnt bowl issue as they used different projectors. If it's just a lens issue on coupes/convertibles, then you're better off finding another set of headlights. The lenses are not replaceable; nobody sells replacements for them, so your only option really is to get another set of headlights.

If your light output really sucks, you probably have a sedan with burnt ZKW projectors. The lenses rarely ever get so bad (especially at this relatively "young" age) that they hinder light output.

ELCID86
03-31-2016, 03:39 AM
May just need new lenses. Easy to swap if you have a sedan.

---
"ZHP is a garbage option anyway- just some cosmetic upgrades with a different cam and diff to claw back some of the performance lost fitting those hideous and heavy wheels. Any 330 with a 3.46 diff will smoke a ZHP every time. The whole Mafia thing reeks of childish behavior." - anonymous

Icebergap
03-31-2016, 05:36 AM