PDA

View Full Version : Does a front tower brace make a difference?

Jennshark
03-14-2018, 10:43 AM
I'm sure this has been asked before, but my search function isn't working well.

I'm a track amateur and will graduate to "rookie" this summer. I'm wondering if a tower brace really makes a positive difference in a 330ci.

If so, is there an appreciable difference between an expensive one like Dinan and a cheaper brace? Thanks.

Oli77
03-14-2018, 11:06 AM
I am not even a track amateur and felt a difference. Make sure bar is solid with no articulation.

Reasoned1
03-14-2018, 11:41 AM
It's minor, but I notice a difference--I have a favorite, tight on-ramp that I can better handle--less body roll--with the strut bar installed (ECS/Turner carbon-fiber). I put one on each of my cars.

cornercarver
03-14-2018, 11:47 AM
It has been debated many times on various forums.

I saw an article (linked on ZHPMafia I think) in which they measured the distance between the strut towers and concluded the displacement was only a millimeter or two. IIRC, it was also done on a track, where stresses are usually higher than street-driven cars.

Conversely; Those German engineers are pretty damn smart, and if BMW added it to the M3, it must do something.

I would have added one but haven't because;

1) I can't find a good one which is reasonably priced and meets all of my needs
2) Most are fixed and therefore cannot accommodate camber adjustments without modification.
3) Most are bent, and as any structural engineer will tell you, if it is bent it provides less rigidity than something straight.

-Just my two cents.

(Edit) Found the link (http://news.bimmerworld.com/is-a-strut-brace-worth-it/), and correction; the delta was actually only 0.7mm at the highest stress point.

http://www.zhpmafia.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=32370&stc=1

slater
03-14-2018, 11:54 AM
Make sure bar is solid with no articulation.

agreed.