PDA

View Full Version : Tree sap... *shudder*

Tucker
07-25-2011, 12:40 PM
Rookie mistake, I know, but I had little choice but to leave my car parked under a pine tree over the weekend when I blew a tire 200 miles from home.

Long story short, I now have more tree sap on my car than I even <gag> want to talk about. Wow, I just threw up in my mouth a little. It's mostly on my roof and the driver's door.

Anyone have any tips, or a product they'd like to--ahem--pitch? (See what I did there?)

Marcus-SanDiego
07-25-2011, 12:46 PM
You're definitely in the right forum. Plenty of knowledgeable people here. I'm already looking forward to their answers. I have no experience with tree sap. Therefore, I'm interested in seeing some solutions.

HokieZHP
07-25-2011, 01:03 PM
I use water and soap on a microfiber. Seems to work well for the little sap I get here and there

Tucker
07-25-2011, 01:06 PM
I'm gonna have to upload some pictures or something... it seriously looks like someone threw spoonfuls of sap onto my car. This pine tree has issues.

BlackNTan
07-25-2011, 01:47 PM
I've recently used Goo Gone for Cars (diluted version of the original) and it worked pretty well on my E Class. Im probably destroying the clear coat and I'm sure more expert members will chime in but it does grt rid of the sap.

brettbimmer
07-25-2011, 06:38 PM
As BlackNTan said best, I am not an expert, though I have used 3M General Purpose Adhesive Remover (NON-AEROSOL VERSION ONLY!!) for 14 years to keep the back-road tar, stubborn tree sap, etc. off of my '97 E36 and other vehicles (including boats). I have not had any adverse affects from what I can see, though I have never inspected under a microscope either. Side note - this stuff works great for getting gum off the bottom of your shoe! Good luck with the sap zap!

static667
07-25-2011, 06:49 PM
I've used some stuff called Bug and Tar remover before. It works pretty well, just takes a little working to get it done.

Johal E32
07-25-2011, 08:27 PM