PDA

View Full Version : Steering Wheel Twitch When Braking

llll1l1ll
08-04-2011, 05:24 AM
Hi All,

Just got my ZHP the other day. So far so good. I'm just curious as to what this symptom could be telling me.

Periodically, I'll apply the brakes and the steering wheel twitches just a little bit. It's noticeable but not a nuisance. It seems to be happening when I apply the brakes more aggressively, or when the car thinks I am applying the brakes more aggressively. If I am really soft, it won't do it, but I've caught it happening when it's soft.

The car does not try to change direction, pull to the left or right, or anything like that. There is no vibration when braking from high or low speeds. No noises. Just this small twitch. Is this part of the DSC/controlled braking/some sort of computerized safety thing? I'm new to the world of these systems, haha.

Sorry if this thread has already been created somewhere else. I did my due diligence, but I couldn't find anything.

Thanks!
Peter

Oli77
08-04-2011, 05:33 AM
Could be nothing.

You mention this happens periodically, is it happening on a particular street where the pavement may be causing some tramlining? I remember being concerned when I first got my e46. These cars will hug the road (contours, imperfections, etc..) and in some places in town will shift left or right when braking.

Off course, you should make sure you don't have a failing brake cylinder.

llll1l1ll
08-04-2011, 05:40 AM
The car does tram but that's not related to braking. The only thing I could think of is that one caliper is gripping just before the other. I have not noticed any sticking caliper symptoms or anything else like that.

danewilson77
08-04-2011, 05:44 AM
You probably have NOT had time to inspect the brake pads/rotors/fluid levels?

If rotors are good....maybe fresh pads and a fluid flush would clear up this nuisance. Maybe there is a lil air in the system? Cheapest way to go may be...just do a quick bleed...and see what happens.