PDA

View Full Version : Noob Questions: 001 of 100 - Big Brake Kits on a '06 330ci M-Tech ZHP (e46)

AProudSailor
09-19-2011, 08:12 AM
Noob Questions: 001 of 100 - Big Brake Kits on a '06 330ci M-Tech ZHP (e46)

:hi Sooo, I'm fairly new to ZHP Mafia, and mechanical performance mod's in general.

This question pertains to Big Brake Kits (BBK's) as I have just started digging into this topic regarding equipping my Sparkling Graphite Metallic '06 330ci M-Tech ZHP (e46)?

My primary concerns are low-dust, high-performance, cost and of course suitability for FAST highway driving..

Here's what I've been steered towards so far..
StopTech ST40 Brake Kit, 332mm Diameter (83.148.4600.52 or 83.148.4600.54)
.51 = Black caliper / slotted rotor
.52 = Black caliper / drilled rotor
.53 = Black caliper / slotted rotor with Zinc plating
.54 = Black caliper / drilled rotor with Zinc plating

My follow-on questions are:
Any real differences on slotted/drilled?
Zinc-plating?
Does no one produce a quality black or dark-colored rotor?

I'll welcome any advice and experiences, good or bad, to help me make the right decision!

mimalmo
09-19-2011, 08:21 AM
Are you talking about the rotor hat being black? The only black rotors I've seen on cars are carbon ceramic.

http://image.automobilemag.com/f/multimedia/photo_gallery/8068824+w1400+h1050+st0/0712_15z_1400x1050+2009_chevrolet_corvette_ZR1+car bon_ceramic_brakes.jpg

wsmeyer
09-19-2011, 08:35 AM
There's a wealth of info on braking over at e46fanatics:

http://forum.e46fanatics.com/showthread.php?t=598402

Zinc plating keeps the metal from rusting. It immediately comes off the braking surface and will leave the slots/holes and hat black which most people think looks nicer.

If I were doing a BBK it would be this in the front:

http://www.ecstuning.com/BMW-E46-330Ci-M54_3.0l/Braking/Big_Brake_OEM/ES2215444/

and just the OEM drilled in the rear:

http://www.ecstuning.com/BMW-E46-330Ci-M54_3.0l/Braking/View_All/ES2137046/

William.