PDA

View Full Version : Whistle, ICV, Trim, etc: Questions from a new(ish) car owner

2004_blue_zhp
11-25-2011, 08:01 AM
Guys,

I've had my ZHP 8 months now, and it's the first car I've owned. As I approach the 1y mark, I want to take care of a few things that have been bothering me, and wanted to check in before doing anything stupid or wasting money.

1) I've got the whistle described in this thread (http://www.zhpmafia.com/forums/showthread.php?2594-Whistle-at-low-throttle/): I gather the solution will be to throw some new intake boots (both upper and lower) at the problem. Not so bad for $40. I am a complete mechanical novice, have no tools on hand and live in the middle of NYC (so no space to work). How much would it cost to have the existing boots checked and (if I buy the parts) replaced? I assume I should go to an Indy rather than the dealer for this. Can anyone recommend someone who knows our cars well in the area?

2) My idle is a bit "unstable". I.e. at idle, the tach will wander up or down a couple hundred RPM. Usually settles in somewhere after a minute or so...but it's annoying. Reading up, this sound like I just need to clean my ICV. But, as I said above, I'm really not comfortable DIY'ing this stuff. If I go to an Indy, how much do you think they'd charge to take care of this? Again, any recommendations in the NYC area for someone who would know what they're doing?