PDA

View Full Version : heavy clutch chatter idling in neutral, and at shut off(normal i know)

Chad44
11-28-2011, 08:27 PM
Starting last week, my car has been randomly loud and jerkilly chattering while idling in neutral. I have been replacing everything in the drivetrain to firm up my shifts but im starting to think there is something wront with the trans/clutch itself... Any thoughts on the sound? the previous owner claimed that the clutch was replaced 12k-15k miles from where it is today.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1W-sdtOqIsY

LivesNearCostco
11-28-2011, 10:12 PM
I'm no clutch expert, but here are some SWAGs as to possible causes

PO replaced clutch but not throw-out and/or pilot bearings and now one of those bearings has failed. If that's the case, you can re-use the current clutch but will have to pull the transmission to change the bearing(s)
PO replaced clutch but not dual-mass flywheel and now you need a new flywheel
PO didn't really replace the clutch
It's not a clutch problem, it's an intermittent misfire; check for pending codes
One of your transmission or motor mounts is completely broken. But that doesn't make sense because then you should get the same shaking consistently or get a thump after hard acceleration, or really sloppy shifting during hard cornering, or something like that.
You have air bubbles in clutch slave or clutch line. But that doesn't make sense since air bubbles would prevent the slave from fully disengaging the pressure plate and should cause noises when you push the clutch pedal in, not when you let it out.
Time for a new clutch slave because it's not letting the clutch engage fully sometimes