PDA

View Full Version : Watkins Glen Advice Needed

az3579
05-09-2012, 05:58 PM
I have been tracking at Lime Rock for about 4 years now. Almost 2 years of that has been in my ZHP, so I know how much I can expect out of my tires and brake pads.

Currently if I was to run Lime Rock all year, averaging about 3 events a year, then I can expect my tires to wear out after 30k miles, which includes 3 track events and regular daily driving (all season tires). A set of pads will last me 2-3 track events, depending on how much meat is left at the end of the 2nd track day.

June will bring my first Watkins Glen event. It's also a double-whammy at that; back-to-back driver's schools.

Currently I have about 20k miles and one track event at Lime Rock on my existing tires, Conti DWS'. About half the tread is still there. My current pads (OEM Jurid pads for the 135i caliper) have been used since last winter, with only one track day on them.

I'm wondering if what I've got will last me through the next track event at Watkins Glen. I don't want to show up there and run out of brake pad and/or tire after only the first day and have to skip the second. I know the safe way out is to buy a new set of tires and pads, which I'm prepared to do. The problem is that tires are ridiculously expensive, so I'd very much rather not have to afford those at this point in the year. I am much more willing to buy some pads, though I'm trying to avoid having to buy rears since that just drives the cost up even more.

I've got those two track days for the Glen in June, and then another Lime Rock event at the end of June. I'm preparing to have new pads by then, but tires might be a stretch.

Can anyone who's been to the Glen attest to how long their tires and pads last there? This would help considerably with my planning for June.

Thanks,
Botond

GMATT
05-10-2012, 02:45 AM