PDA

View Full Version : Wheels: Does Size Matter?

MsRN
10-04-2012, 08:13 PM
Sorry for the pun, all! ;). More to the point, I called my local shop this spring to have Pilot Supersports mounted to my pretty 18" D-Force wheels, which you may recall are 'oversized'. I recoiled in shock when they quoted me $1500 installed; apparently, stretching tires onto 18x8.5 and 18x9.5 rims is really difficult. Which jogged my memory: do I recall someone saying that larger rims are purely cosmetic, and that 17" rims are preferable for crossing or racing? It seems I could build a much lighter, tougher, and cheaper set of wheels in 17", and run a square setup (17x8.5) to boot. Am I making any sense, or am I totally out to lunch on this one?

johnrando
10-04-2012, 08:18 PM
I'm by no means a tire expert but I read that type of statement all the time, so I would think you are correct... go with 17's square for cross n racing.

As for the pun:

:chuck

:)

BCS_ZHP
10-04-2012, 08:19 PM
I have nothing to educate anyone on tire stretching, no experience in that vein. Just wanted to say glad to see you back posting around these parts. Hope all has been going well.

toddness
10-04-2012, 08:39 PM
Don't they make Magnum style tires?

Hermes
10-04-2012, 09:42 PM
You are absolutely correct to think 17 would be a proper wheel size. It will clear the brakes, it will weigh less, but you will need to run more sidewall (which will make your ride slightly more comfortable). 18" and up is really for looks, hell I think F1 still runs 14s. Modern GT class teams run 18s only because they need to clear the huge BBK's on their cars

M0nk3y
10-05-2012, 08:51 AM
The reason why you want smaller wheels, is because they are lighter (usually).

Lighter wheels have less moment of inertia, so they spin easier when a force is applied. Less unsprung weight = faster off the line and accelerations.

Might sound crazy, but drop a couple pounds on each wheel, you'll feel it.

JKO_ZHP
10-05-2012, 09:47 AM