PDA

View Full Version : Dry vs. Oiled

ryankokesh
11-06-2012, 05:07 PM
Does anyone know the performance/flow difference between the aFe dry and oiled filters? On their site they use different scales so you can't tell the actual difference in flow... :dunno

Oiled:
http://afepower.com/images/diesel_pro5r_close.jpg

Dry:
http://afepower.com/images/diesel_prodrys_close.jpg

328ioc
11-06-2012, 05:44 PM
I believe the oiled will filter better but flow less.

And Dry doesn't filter quite as well but flows better.

I am by no means an expert though so some one feel free to correct me.
Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

UdubBadger
11-06-2012, 06:01 PM
Ry - I should slap you. I told you oiled this morning.

JKO_ZHP
11-06-2012, 06:02 PM
I believe the oiled will filter better but flow less.

And Dry doesn't filter quite as well but flows better.

I am by no means an expert though so some one feel free to correct me.
Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2

That's what I've heard and seen as stated by K&N and also aFe.
Guess it comes down to, do you want your engine to breathe healthier or have a higher HP gain and louder noise?

UdubBadger
11-06-2012, 06:12 PM
I've only owned oiled filters, never even had a bad MAF let alone any other issues.

Washburn
11-06-2012, 06:54 PM
I've only owned oiled filters, never even had a bad MAF let alone any other issues.

That makes me feel better..I have some type of oiled Dinan filter/airbox, and I have always been worried about a ruined MAF...
I have no idea how often those things should be oiled...the car has 36k now, and I have a feeling the PO put it on when the car had ~ 8k miles or so, but may not have oiled it again...

ryankokesh
11-06-2012, 06:57 PM
Ry - I should slap you. I told you oiled this morning.

Yeah, you should. Not to imply I don't trust you or you don't know what you're talking about, but Dane endorses the dry variety, and he kinda knows his stuff.

HokieZHP
11-06-2012, 06:59 PM