PDA

View Full Version : Wheel / Tire / spacer choices for Autocross season

jeff57ax
02-10-2013, 09:22 AM
Autocross starts in April and to get prepped, I will make wheel/tire/spacer changes from stock.

Looking for suggestions, feedback from autocrossers/racers who liked/disliked their choices.

I want to go with the same size wheels and tires - probably 17X9. I have used Bridgestone RE-11s in the past, and liked them - but open to comments

What wheel size do you like?
What tire size do you like?
What wheel spacers, if any do you like with your set-up

Thanks for the feedback

LivesNearCostco
02-10-2013, 10:43 AM
I am no AutoX expert but I know how to ask annoying questions! What class are you competing in? Will wheel/tire/spacer selection affect your classing? What is your budget? Your spring, swaybar, and front camber setup might affect tire choice a little. Are you willing to roll or stretch your fenders?

If wheel/tire money is no object I propose two sets of the lightest 18x9" forged wheels you can find with 255mm width tires, one optimized for dry grip and the 2nd set for rain. Spacers will depend on offset. If you rolled your fenders then 265mm may be possible. The Vorshlag folks did a crazy build on an E46 330 (for DSP or STX?) where they grafted M3 fenders onto a normal 330 to fit 10" wheels with 265 or 275mm tires.

I currently use D-force 17x8.5" and would like to get Apex Arc8 17x9" rims--18" means less sidewall roll and better BBK clearance but 17" means cheaper tires. But right now don't have storage space or budget to accommodate two dedicated sets of wheels.

M0nk3y
02-10-2013, 10:49 AM
What class are you looking to be in when everything is said and done?

You can run DS (which requires R-Comps), RTR (which shadows stock rules), or STX.

If you want light wheels, go APEX ARC-8s. They will be the best option to shed weight. http://www.apexraceparts.com/ARC-8-17x9-Wheel_p_17.html