PDA

View Full Version : Low-beams not bright enough.

Enemy
05-11-2013, 08:58 PM
Gents,

When I received my new-to-me ZHP last week, the headlights would not illuminate the road well at all. They were so dim that the fog lights did a better job lighting up the road. The lenses were extremely faded and pitted, so I thought maybe with new lenses that the clarity would come back. I was wrong.

I installed new lenses today, and also new bulbs... still having the same problem. Driver's side is brighter than passenger side, but neither is bright enough. They are both on and powered. Just not powered enough? The self-leveling seems to work just fine, and I also checked their level adjustment manually.

All lights work and operate correctly, except the low-beams. My first thought is that they may not be receiving adequate power? Could it be the ballasts? Igniter? I'm not very experienced with this.

The same problem occurred both with the stock equipment, and also now that I installed some Angel Eyes and new bulbs. Bulbs came from Khoalty, so nothing fancy, but the issue was there with previous bulbs too, so I'm ruling out the quality factor. This has to be something having to do with faulty ballasts or igniter, right?

I tried a search here and didn't see anything about it. I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

derbo
05-11-2013, 09:41 PM
Welcome!

Sounds like you have the infamous ZKW burnt bowls. There are few options available and all are fairly costly..

Check out this thread.

http://www.zhpmafia.com/forums/showthread.php?5445-ZKW-Burnt-Projector-Bowl-Repair-Retrofit-DIY&highlight=burnt+bowls

Avetiso
05-11-2013, 09:44 PM
If you are not keen on doing a retrofit such as FX-R projectors or M3 AL bowls, I would recommend finding used AL headlights from junk/salvage yards or for sale. I picked up a set of AL headlights for $500 USD with bulbs and ballasts and decent lenses. Auto adjust works fine, too.

That is the simplest way.

LivesNearCostco