Materials to Maintain Your ZHP IIIII Hand Protection IIIII Tools to Maintain Your ZHP
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

My stock system upgrade

So I started to hijack another thread and I promptly stopped as a noob here. I have owned/own a number of bmw's over the years and the only fault I have found with the cars is their lackluster sound systems....I'm not talking about the boom boom, just good clean full range sound. Here's my build on my 04 zhp sedan.

I'll start off by noting that I wanted my car's appear end to be as stock as possible. My car had factory nav and the hk upgrade (if you can call it that). I was also concerned about weight gain as it's the biggest hp killer...

Here's my list of gear:

Hertz hsk energy 165. 3 way speaker system
    Jl audio 10w7
    Zapco dc reference 6.650
    Zapco dc reference 1000.1
    Knuconcept wires and distribution blocks

I purchased the hertz new for $400, the Jl used (actually traded an amp for it), the two zapco amps cost $650 total (they were taken from a demo vehicle) and $150 on wires, fuse blocks and alpha damp.

So let's start with the front speaker install..

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I'm intrested always been a fan of full range audio. My front door mids recently blew looking for options

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

First, i removed the seats, to be able to run new wiring to the front of the car. The stock wiring is actually pretty good in that its twisted pair, but its 18-20 Ga. which will create too much resistance @ 4ohms and the 100w which I am feeding the midbass.
    I ran the wire under the carpet in the middle of the car because the alternator feed runs up the side.
    Here's how I ran the wires to the door.

Remove the 8 mm bolt on the wire boot. Lift the boot and pull from the car side, it should come off pretty easily. Disconnect the plug by pulling the end, it will pop right out.

Now take a flathead and remove the outer sheath on the connecter.