Materials to Maintain Your ZHP IIIII Hand Protection IIIII Tools to Maintain Your ZHP
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

ZHP or E30 for DD/Autocross

Long story short, I wanted to get into auto crossing a year ago but I decided to hold off because I had a lot going on at the time. Now I have the time and means to get into auto crossing so I've decided to get started this summer.

My options are to:
    A. Mod my current ZHP (maintenance comes first of course)

B. Pick up a clean S52 swapped E30 coupe with tasteful mods

I've always been a fan of classic BMW's but I've never driven or owned one. My only main concern is how well of a dd are E30's? Are they good on long road trips?

In a perfect world, I'd keep both but I'm a college student living away from home so its one or the other.

Thanks in advance guys!

ZHP = money pit.
    E30 = money pit.

Pick your poison. Both cars are capable autocrossers and capable daily drivers. I'd say the E30 would have the edge in autocross, while the ZHP is obviously the more comfortable, modern daily driver. I'd stick with the ZHP if autocross is going to be a rare thing.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
    In the market for an E90 M3

Quote Originally Posted by Avetiso View Post
    ZHP = money pit.
    E30 = money pit.

Pick your poison. Both cars are capable autocrossers and capable daily drivers. I'd say the E30 would have the edge in autocross, while the ZHP is obviously the more comfortable, modern daily driver. I'd stick with the ZHP if autocross is going to be a rare thing.

Sent from my SM-G900T using Tapatalk
    +1. Owned both. E30 has a bit of an edge in raw handling, but the ZHP is a more comfortable DD.

Sent from my pineapple under the sea.

-Brettski

4. E30 parts are cheaper, the car is much easier to work on, less computers, better accessibility to things (s52 will take some of that away). The purchase price should be better on an E30 I would think.