Materials to Maintain Your ZHP IIIII Hand Protection IIIII Tools to Maintain Your ZHP
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question BMW Idler Pulley

So yesterday I noticed a new sound coming from the engine. I'm by no means an expert, but I'm fairly certain it's the idler pulley. Even if it's not, I'm pushing 115k and I don't have a record of this ever being done. So I think it's probably time either way...

Anyway... my question is actually about the A/C pulley. Should I go ahead and swap out this pulley and belt too while that pita fan is out?

thanks,
    ryan

**Also**
    Would I be able to easily tell if I had the hydraulic tensioner? Like I'd be able to see that hydraulic tube by the alternator, right?
    Last edited by ryankokesh; 02-27-2011 at 09:08 PM.

I recommend you do:

1. Idler
    2. Hydraulic tensioner
    3. Serpentine belt.
    4. Mech AC tensioner
    5. AC belt.

Bout $100.00................

GLWM
    Call Me Dane l 2/2004 330i ZHP l 18x8 ET45 BBS CK's wrapped with Michelin Pilot Sport AS3+ @ 245-40-18 l KW V1 Coilovers in front l KW V1 springs w/ Bilstein B8 dampeners in rear l BMW Performance Rotors l UUC StrutBarbarian l Racing Dynamics Rear Strut Bar l Jim Conforti Shark Injector l Light Birch Interior Trim l Bimmian Celly Mount l M3 Trunk Mat l l e90 Performance E-Brake & Shift Knob l M3 Tri-Stitched Boots l AL Headlight Retrofit with ZKW Lenses l CobyWheel Wrap w/M3 Stitching l LCM sw 4.5 triple blink and rear fogs l Maple Interior Trim

Is it worth it to convert it to hydraulic? Or should I stick with the mechanical tensioner?

I think its worth it. I did this on the 325I ZSP.

Some info in the DIY section here.....

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk