Materials to Maintain Your ZHP IIIII Hand Protection IIIII Tools to Maintain Your ZHP
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Question Selecting A New Suspension Setup

I've reached about 112k miles on my car and am thinking about refreshing/upgrading my suspension. I am new to suspension and have done some research about coilovers and the different setups e46 owners like but I need some help deciding which setup would be best for me. I want a new suspension that is more performance oriented than the stock setup but I don't want the harsh ride of a race car since my ZHP is my DD. How do Bilstein Sports with H&R Sport Springs compare with new OEM ZHP shocks, struts, and springs, is there really that much difference in performance? I know it would be lower than the stock setup and I've read Bilsteins are generally firmer (better performance?) than Konis but would it make the car handle considerably better?

And this brings me to my question about coilovers. There are many coilovers on the market and with a big price range. I've found that most cheap coilovers (<$1000) and especially those made in China/Taiwan are not well liked unless your only objective is to be lowered and to have control of the height. So compared to a new OEM ZHP suspension would these actually make your car handle worse since the internals, i'm assuming, are cheap? Do KW V1 Coilovers handle significantly better than cheap coilovers?

I know many of you on this forum are fans of the BC Racing BR-Type coilovers which are relatively cheap compared to coilovers like KW and GC. Between the Bilstein Sports with H&R Sport Springs and BC Racing BR-Type coilovers, do BC coilovers perform better or is the premium only because you can adjust them however you want.

I know its a lot of questions, there are so many suspension products out there and I am trying to figure out how they really compare.