Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: New to coding

  1. #21
    Just in case I can't get that silver cable to work, I found these on Amazon:

    This one has a switch, so it's good for K-line (1996 to 2007) cars and D-can (2007+). It's also almost $50 (!!!!)
    https://smile.amazon.com/dp/B01LZRBX...KX1IBIGP&psc=0

    This one is K-line only, but it's cheaper - $30
    https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    They both say specifically in the description that they work with E46 and other BMWs of that generation. The silver one said it was for 2007+, which I missed out on. Plus they're both blue, which i think is neat.
    John||2005 BMW 330i ZHP||2006 BMW X5 4.8is|| @_oltorf_

  2. #22
    Ok, so I have the software installed and I hooked everything up but I'm getting an error that says "NET-0009 TIMEOUT". I've been searching all over but I can't find anything on it. Has anyone dealt with this before?

    Here's the most informative answer that I'm finding:

    9 NET-0009: TIMEOUT EDIABAS_NET_0009

    Meaning: Communication partner does not respond.

    Causes: The communication setup or the communication with the communication partner is not possible.
    The communication partner is known in the network.

    Error correction: Check the transmission medium.
    Check whether the communication partner properly runs.
    Check whether the IFH server runs on the system of the communication partner.
    Check whether the EDIABAS configuration element Port of the communication partner agrees with the own system.
    If this error continues to occur, re-start the application.

    It's from the EDIABAS documentation that I downloaded. It seems like this is an error that usually occurs with DIS or one of the older programs.
    John||2005 BMW 330i ZHP||2006 BMW X5 4.8is|| @_oltorf_

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Branford, CT
    Posts
    14,215
    Make sure the cable is set to COM1 and the latency set to 1ms.
    BP
    2005 330i ZHP / 6MT
    Connecticut Valley Chapter
    Patroon Chapter
    Imolarot / Naturbraun

    It's not the car you drive, it's how you drive it.

  4. #24
    Quote Originally Posted by az3579 View Post
    Make sure the cable is set to COM1 and the latency set to 1ms.
    I changed the port to com1 in device manager and in the EDIABAS settings. Also, I changed the interface to STD:OBD in the C:\EDIABAS folder, instead the EDIABAS folder in the rheingard folder and it worked. Hot dog!

    Anyways, I have MRS codes 5 and 9, so I guess I'm going to be diagnosing airbags next.
    John||2005 BMW 330i ZHP||2006 BMW X5 4.8is|| @_oltorf_

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Lake Wylie, NC
    Posts
    193
    When you guys are selecting the engine in INPA, are you selecting E46 - M54 (assuming you have an M54 engine), or are you selecting M56? I have an M54 engine, but if I select M54, I immediately get an interface error. If I select M56, it appears to work fine, and I successfully pulled codes. I can also select M56 without being connected to the car, and I get to the menu where if I select M54, I immediately get the error if I'm connected or not. When I select E85 and S54 for my other car, it behaves just like the E46 M56 selection and brings up the menu whether connected or not and works fine. I noticed the M54 engine selection lists MS 43 and the M56 engine selection lists MS 45.

    Can anyone point me in the right direction?

    Thanks!

    Salty
    __________________________________________________ _____
    2005 BMW 330Ci ZHP Jet Black/Black with aluminum cube
    Bone stock at the moment

  6. #26
    Quote Originally Posted by SaltyNC View Post
    When you guys are selecting the engine in INPA, are you selecting E46 - M54 (assuming you have an M54 engine), or are you selecting M56? I have an M54 engine, but if I select M54, I immediately get an interface error. If I select M56, it appears to work fine, and I successfully pulled codes. I can also select M56 without being connected to the car, and I get to the menu where if I select M54, I immediately get the error if I'm connected or not. When I select E85 and S54 for my other car, it behaves just like the E46 M56 selection and brings up the menu whether connected or not and works fine. I noticed the M54 engine selection lists MS 43 and the M56 engine selection lists MS 45.

    Can anyone point me in the right direction?

    Thanks!

    Salty
    I only looked at INPA for a few minutes, but I got an error when I picked M54 too. Dunno what the issue was. ISTA seems to be a better program so I didn't bother trying to fix it.
    John||2005 BMW 330i ZHP||2006 BMW X5 4.8is|| @_oltorf_

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Branford, CT
    Posts
    14,215
    You have to use M56 (MSS 45) since our DME's are MSS45.
    BP
    2005 330i ZHP / 6MT
    Connecticut Valley Chapter
    Patroon Chapter
    Imolarot / Naturbraun

    It's not the car you drive, it's how you drive it.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Lake Wylie, NC
    Posts
    193
    Quote Originally Posted by az3579 View Post
    You have to use M56 (MSS 45) since our DME's are MSS45.
    Thanks!

    Salty
    __________________________________________________ _____
    2005 BMW 330Ci ZHP Jet Black/Black with aluminum cube
    Bone stock at the moment

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Similar Threads

  1. Coding Thread
    By derbo in forum BMW Coding
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12-10-2017, 07:44 PM
  2. Coding GM5...
    By justinwilson77 in forum BMW Coding
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 03-07-2016, 04:12 PM
  3. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 02-02-2016, 02:17 PM
  4. coding question
    By Asiah119 in forum BMW Coding
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-11-2014, 04:23 AM
  5. Replies: 73
    Last Post: 04-09-2014, 07:11 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •