Materials to Maintain Your ZHP IIIII Hand Protection IIIII Tools to Maintain Your ZHP
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Totaled my ZHP--what should I do?

Mafia, I write you today with the heaviest of hearts. Coming home from an incredibly long and exhausting trip, I took a curve too fast on a hill after it had just started to rain (in my own neighborhood of all places), and I spun out and hit a tree. I haven't gotten anyone to look at it yet, but I am positive that I've totaled it.

Name:  car1.jpeg
Views: 732
Size:  1.91 MB

Firstly, I am completely fine. Not so much as a bruise. What hurts the most is my pure idiocy. I feel unworthy to have ever driven such a beautiful machine, only to destroy it in an instant by driving irresponsibly.

I do not have collision insurance--only liability. The car is a total loss.

I write you today asking for advice. I'm a student still and simply am hoping to recover what I can from the vehicle in terms of monetary value.

It had just shy of 120,xxx miles on it.

The car is sitting at my house currently (the tow from 100 feet down the street to my house was $250.. -_-). Obviously the frame of the car is bent, the fans/radiator system is smashed, but from what I can tell, the damage may not extend inwards further than that, so the engine may be okay.

What would something like this be worth, and what might be the best course of action for me to take to recoup some fraction of its value at least? Get offers from local BMW shops? Attempt to part it out? Any suggestions would be appreciated. Any words would be appreciated, as a matter of fact. I've never wrecked a car before, and to wreck my wonderful ZHP made me feel like utter horsesh*t.

Thanks in advance.

Very sorry to hear the news. Glad you are ok. Are you in Austin TX ? I remember your screen name for some reason.

You will get more money if you part your car. However this could be time consuming and as a student you may not have that luxury.

GL, sir.
    2005 IR / black / 6MT