Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: New Android head unit no Audio

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    New Android head unit no Audio

    Hello everyone,

    I just attempted to install a 9" android head unit from Eonon (GA9150KW), I got it wired up and turned it on for a test and no audio! So looking online I found that the Harmon Kardon amp might be my problem.. Apparently it needs a 12 volt signal to prompt it to power on. I have seen a few threads that mention this but don't go into great detail. One said to splice a 12 volt power source and connecting it to the blue and White wire.... Anyone have more experience with this? I'm am not sure what wire would be the amp signal. Thanks!
    2006 - black sapphire metallic - convertible - 6 speed manual

  2. #2
    I don't have specific knowledge of how the HK amp works, but with normal aftermarket amps there is a "turn-on wire" that is usually tapped from the radio's ACC power line.

    On the schematic I see a BLU/WHT wire that connects from the amp to the front left midrange...but they don't list wire functions in here.
    2003 Blue ZHP Sedan @ 195k
    Paint chips | Current MIL: P0420 | Airbag Light | Poorly Sprayed Black Style 135s |Ugly Alcantara Steering Wheel | Trunk Squeak | Faded Shadowline Trim
    This car is not a peach. It is a precision instrument, and will be used as such.

  3. #3
    Quote Originally Posted by DeathTrap View Post
    I don't have specific knowledge of how the HK amp works, but with normal aftermarket amps there is a "turn-on wire" that is usually tapped from the radio's ACC power line.

    On the schematic I see a BLU/WHT wire that connects from the amp to the front left midrange...but they don't list wire functions in here.
    Guess its not that blue and white wire then lol(they may have meant on the supplied harness adapter?), but where did you find the schematics? They could be useful for this.. Thank you!

    Quote Originally Posted by ZHPizza View Post
    Post a pic of the wires coming out of the back of the headunit. I know what you need to connect, but it's been so long that I need to see it to jog my memory and point it out.
    Hey ZHPizza, I will post some pics below showing how it is currently hooked up. Thanks so much for your help BTW! Also in the second pic I circled a plug that I didn't plug in anywhere. The how to videos I watched on youtube as a tutorial don't mention this small plug below the main one nor did the instructions with the new unit.(see red circle pic #2)


    Name:  IMG_3378.jpg
Views: 274
Size:  157.6 KB
    Name:  IMG_3377.jpg
Views: 271
Size:  328.4 KB
    Name:  IMG_3379.jpg
Views: 282
Size:  91.2 KB
    2006 - black sapphire metallic - convertible - 6 speed manual

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    2,379
    Post a pic of the wires coming out of the back of the headunit. I know what you need to connect, but it's been so long that I need to see it to jog my memory and point it out.

  5. #5
    Thanks for the help! I took some pics and will post them tonight when Im off work.
    2006 - black sapphire metallic - convertible - 6 speed manual

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    2,379
    Well that blue wire that is connected is the one that I was going to be looking for. The unused plug on the connector is normal though. No worries there. Looks like you don't have the HK system? The car didn't come with navigation, right?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    9,112
    Quote Originally Posted by ZHPizza View Post
    Well that blue wire that is connected is the one that I was going to be looking for. The unused plug on the connector is normal though. No worries there. Looks like you don't have the HK system? The car didn't come with navigation, right?
    I thought all ZHPs came with HK, no?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    2,379
    Quote Originally Posted by BMWCurves View Post
    I thought all ZHPs came with HK, no?
    I dunno. I don't see the little spatialization speaker button. Maybe they didn't put it in the drop tops?

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by ZHPizza View Post
    I dunno. I don't see the little spatialization speaker button. Maybe they didn't put it in the drop tops?
    I don't know what the specialization speaker button is(so must not have it), but it does say HK on the tweeters in the front, and have the stock sub in the ski pass through area.. what does the button do?
    2006 - black sapphire metallic - convertible - 6 speed manual

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    Charlotte, NC
    Posts
    2,379
    Quote Originally Posted by TripleBlackZHP View Post
    I don't know what the specialization speaker button is(so must not have it), but it does say HK on the tweeters in the front, and have the stock sub in the ski pass through area.. what does the button do?
    Yeah, you've got HK. I think they just didn't put the spatialization feature in verts.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Review: Xtrons PB7646BAP Android 6.0 Head Unit - Pic Heavy
    By az3579 in forum Product and Storefront Reviews
    Replies: 121
    Last Post: Yesterday, 02:31 AM
  2. Xtrons PB7646BAP Android 6.0 Head Unit
    By Cadeez in forum Audio | In Car Entertainment (ICE)
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 02-23-2018, 12:44 AM
  3. Use of factory GPS antenna with Android head units?
    By SaltyNC in forum Audio | In Car Entertainment (ICE)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-30-2017, 01:15 PM
  4. Hizpo Android 7.1 head Unit
    By nextelbuddy in forum Audio | In Car Entertainment (ICE)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-16-2017, 09:35 AM
  5. 05 Avin multimedia head unit
    By phillipjfry in forum Audio | In Car Entertainment (ICE)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-16-2017, 08:43 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •