Materials to Maintain Your ZHP IIIII Hand Protection IIIII Tools to Maintain Your ZHP
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: zhp vs. 335i

zhp vs. 335i

Hello!

Newbie here with a query that I couldn't see addressed in the most recent threads. Forgive me if it's been discussed before (mods - please feel to merge if that is the case).

Curious to know the take of those who have driven 335i's - regular I mean, not the "is". Since they are more recent (more powerful?) with updated technology and gizmos, do they handle as well as the zhp?

And yes, I am very much aware that I am posting on a zhp forum.

Thanks!

Hmmm. Loaded question. I owned both cars: 2003 ZHP and 2007 335i ZSP. The 335i could, in theory, outhandle my ZHP but it didn't offer the same feeling. The extra weight of the 335i, the standard RFTs (switching those out helps) and the car's general isolation translated to a car that turned well but never felt alive in my hands. It was fast, secure and competent.

If I went back to an e9x car, it'd be the 328 or M3. The 335i for all the extra weight, just didn't give me goosebumps in corners. It's really fast but even that is kinda boring as the turbo just lays on power without the manic rush I get from BMW's natural engines.

As BMW moves toward turbos I see myself moving toward their used cars.

"Handling" is a function of many different things: actual mechanical grip, lap times, and most importantly, feel. Objectively, the 335 will probably handle better (stock for stock) than a ZHP, but so much is down to how a car feels and the confidence it inspires.
    - Marc

I am away from my computer. I owned a 2009 335 zsp and 2005 zhp at the same time.

I will compare the two when I get home.

The short answer, though, is that I think you have to tweak the 335 to make it feel as good as the zhp feels stock. Note my use of the word feel.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

nike001 Guest