Materials to Maintain Your ZHP IIIII Hand Protection IIIII Tools to Maintain Your ZHP
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Kumho Ecsta 4x All Season Ultra High Performance All Season Tires

Recently installed these on the ZHP. After driving last winter on summer tires, I was ready to give some all seasons a try.

Use Parameters: This car won't be tracked, so I wasn't worried about track grip. The ZHP sees use all year (with the exception of the few days when we have snow-covered roadways). I am a spirited driver-- not hard on the brakes, but definitely like pushing through the corners and twisties.

Decision Points: Used the following priorities in order-- 1) cost 1a) grip 2) steering response 3) straight line tracking 4) Comfort/road noise

After doing a ton of research, I settled on these tires based in large part on the video review I saw on TireRack.com.

Use so far: About 150 miles of mixed-condition driving. I've driven local roads and highway in the rain and on dry pavement.

Initial impressions: First off, tires are significantly quieter than either the Bridgestone Potenza RE040s that they replaced or the Ventus V4s that I had on the 325i. They also offer a slightly more comfortable ride.

Steering response is immediate-- exactly what I expected after the TireRack review.

Straight line tracking and center line feel is also very good with no wandering or tramlining.

Dry grip is very, very good-- especially for an all season tire with a UTQG treadwear grade of 420. These are fun tires and really feel like summer tires to me.

Wet grip is impressive as well-- I took a wide-lane highway off ramp in the rain last night and purposely pushed her to the point of traction-break. Took a lot of effort on my part to get her to break loose-- very happy here.

All this being said, it's very early. I'll follow up on this after a few thousand miles with some updated information.