Materials to Maintain Your ZHP IIIII Hand Protection IIIII Tools to Maintain Your ZHP
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Red Loctite?

Hybrid View

nike001 Guest

Red Loctite?

Since I did my VANOS about 6 months back, I've had a stripped thread for one of the holes that are in the head. Here is a pic of the hole with the stripped threads inside:

Now, my question is.. can I use red loctite and put it on the threads of the stud and then place it in the hole? Ever since my VANOS job, I've put in and lost at least 2 studs. But they would thread in, and at some point while tightening the bolt on the end.. the whole thing would spin.

Terra said red loctite would work, but others that I've talked to said that I need to completely re-tap it and get a bigger stud. I'm iffy on that since the threads are in the HEAD of my engine, and I don't want to ruin that just yet.

I'm no pro, and I know nothing about red loctite. That said, I'm gonna go ahead and posit that you'd need to re-tap that baby. Plus, I don't think it'd be too difficult.

No flavor of Loctite is gong to work if the threads are stripped. I can't quite tell what that stud does from the picture, do you know what the torque spec is for it? If it's not too much you could use a Helicoil, they are available almost anywhere:

http://www.emhart.com/brands/heli-coil

If that happened to someone that was in the middle of nowhere they might smear it with JB Quick and put it back in. Depending on the torque it might not work at all, or it might last forever lol.

William.
    2006 CiC 6MT
    ZHP, Cold Weather, Xenon
    Sapphire Black / Black Leather / Black Cube

cool, never heard of the helicoil...

nike001 Guest
    The stud threads into the head, and then the bolt tightens onto that, and if I copied the right specs.. the torque is 10 Nm (7 Ft-lb), so not much.

I have JB weld, think that would work?

Quote Originally Posted by nike001 View Post