PDA

View Full Version : WTB: Sport Seats (or M3) With Adjustable Lumbar - For Retrofit

TomTomTuning
07-28-2013, 06:06 PM
Hey,

My ZHP did not come with Premium Package so I don't have adjustable lumbar support. I have a bad back and lumbar support would really help, so I'm super interested in doing a retrofit.

My seats are in pretty amazing shape, so I'm mainly looking for donor seats to swap out the guts.

I'll have to do some research to see what all seats I can do the retrofit from but I know Charlie used M3 seats. I'm guessing it will be Sport seats or M3.

Thanks,
Tom.

Pip
07-28-2013, 06:14 PM
From experience you can use any sport seat from e46. That includes coupe, sedan, and convertible.

My original research said convertible wouldn't work because it has different pump part number, but if you get a donor seat it won't matter. The location is really the only difference - convertible pump is located on the upper part of the seat (you'll have longer tubing) and the coupe/sedan pump is near the bottom. I currently have convertible guts in my sedan seats.

Here is a great place to start - http://www.tmk.com/lumbar/index.shtml.

It would be ideal to find an accident car parting out the seats for parts like I did.

TomTomTuning
07-28-2013, 06:19 PM
From experience you can use any sport seat from e46. That includes coupe, sedan, and convertible.

My original research said convertible wouldn't work because it has different pump part number, but if you get a donor seat it won't matter. The location is really the only difference - convertible pump is located on the upper part of the seat (you'll have longer tubing) and the coupe/sedan pump is near the bottom. I currently have convertible guts in my sedan seats.

Here is a great place to start - http://www.tmk.com/lumbar/index.shtml.

It would be ideal to find an accident car parting out the seats for parts like I did.
Awesome Sean, I really appreciate the info.