PDA

View Full Version : NorCalZman seat heater effort

NorCalZman
02-03-2014, 06:16 PM
Ok, I have received the E83 sport seat heating elements from Europe. the connector has a BMW logo on it, as does the paper tag that is sealed around the cable. There was some conversation in another thread as to whether these would end up being actual BMW heating elements. Well, I am not an expert so I don't know. However, these seem pretty high quality/substantial to me and it seems like it would be a lot of effort to make elements shaped just for certain seat from the mid 00s and bmw connectors/wires/etc. As long as they heat my behind I will be happy.

Back
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/02/04/u2uduvem.jpg

Seat
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/02/04/y3umyna4.jpg

Connector/tag
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/02/04/e3u6usu9.jpg

Next steps now that these have arrived: I will be ordering the retrofit kit from BMW. Once that arrives, I will go talk to a few shops in San Francisco and see how we can get these installed. I will update as I go along.

EDIT: installed. They do work fine. As someone else said they could be warmer but they are beneath the foam instead of sewn into the cover. I will be using the BMW Scanner and the links in this thread to code the seats to get hotter and I should be good to go. The user I bought these from goes by "bmwe46driver" on ebay. You can message him for the E83 sport seat elements.

johnrando
02-03-2014, 06:17 PM
GL!

Avetiso
02-03-2014, 06:31 PM
Looking forward to the progress.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk

NorCalZman
02-17-2014, 06:23 PM
The seat heater kit came today in my latest part order. the wiring in the kit are wires with metal tabs at the end. Not plugs. I tried to match up a few from the wires to the plug like items on the seats and they did plug on, but I am not a wiring expert so I do not know if I was matching them up correctly.