PDA

View Full Version : ZHP Auto or regular 330i

potentialbuyer
05-05-2014, 12:08 PM
Hello, newbie here and as my handle implies I'm considering buying a ZHP. Now, I am a driving enthusiast and I really want a manual trans BUT I commute 65 miles a day and traffic isn't always bad but sometimes its stop and go. So because of that I'm leaning towards an auto.

Anyway, I'm curious to hear thoughts & opinions from others on the fun factor of the auto zhp. Or from someone who might commute in a manual. I know this is highly relative but I guess I'm just looking for opinions that might sway me. Are the auto's still really fun cars to drive? And, if I'm gunna go auto, maybe I should just get a regular 330i...? I love the looks of the ZHP but I'm not convinced that the power difference would even be noticeable, or maybe it is...?

-Chris

stephenkirsh
05-05-2014, 12:12 PM
I think there's a recent thread about this somewhere.

Bottom line was that lots of us have an auto, myself included. We all like it, and it all works just fine.

I actually track/autocross my car and shift manually, so the tranny works great for all conditions for how old it is.

The auto zhp is faster than a normal 330. The 10 extra hp helps a bit, but it's the rear differential that does it (3.64 in the zhp vs the 3.46 in all other auto e46s).

johnrando
05-05-2014, 12:18 PM
Or a "regular" 330i? An auto is a regular 330i, so is a manual. (Just giving you a hard time). Welcome to the forum. Please introduce yourself in our new members section.

To me, manuals are more fun to drive, but living with an AUTO in LA traffic made more sense, as well as it lets my wife be able to drive it if necessary. I added paddle shifts and DINAN STEP s/w to enhance the AUTO experience, but it's not the same. Add a Sprint Booster (or Pedal Box) for quicker throttle response and performance wise it's not a dramatic difference, but manuals are faster/lighter than AUTOs.

webster
05-05-2014, 12:37 PM