PDA

View Full Version : How long till you 'mastered' driving stick?

GreenFrog
09-11-2011, 10:50 AM
I bought my ZHP at the end of June, so it's been about 2.5 months of ownership so far. It's also my first stick-shift car so I'm still learning how to perfect my technique.

I still have trouble going from 1st to 2nd smoothly and quickly. I mean, I can let the clutch out really slow to get a smooth shift, but I can't do it as quickly as I do from 2-3, 3-4, 4-5, etc. I also have the most trouble downshift/rev-matching from 3rd to 2nd. It's as if I have to hit the EXACT sweet spot to get a smooth downshift. Otherwise, it noticeably jerks.

When I'm shifting from 3 to 4 for example, the clutch goes in and out within a second. Is 1st to 2nd not designed to work that way? Any tips in general on how to drive stick smoothly? Also, how much gas do you give from a stop to start in 1st (i.e. what rpm range do you start to let out the clutch)?

Thanks!

mimalmo
09-11-2011, 10:54 AM
Crack the window a bit and listen to the engine as you drive. That helped me learn and that was over 20 years ago.

danewilson77
09-11-2011, 10:55 AM
Clutch stop and removal of CDV may help you.

HTC Thunderbolt+TT

kayger12
09-11-2011, 10:57 AM
CDV definitely seems to make 1st to 2nd a pain.

Droid X. Tapatalk. Use it.

Hornung418
09-11-2011, 11:21 AM
Took me almost one week in my 944. My BMW was a little different for me, took me almost a month to get used to it and learn all of it's quirks.

Take your time and learn where the engine likes to spin at certain speeds in 2nd and 3rd gear. That was the key for me when rev matching. Then it becomes second nature after a while.

static667
09-11-2011, 11:23 AM
CDV definitely seems to make 1st to 2nd a pain.

^this.

Sent from my rooted Fascinate using Tapatalk.

GreenFrog
09-11-2011, 11:36 AM