PDA

View Full Version : Caliper reassembly Question

edlvrt
09-13-2011, 06:21 AM
Hello all. I recently took one of my calipers and rotors off to fix a rattle. I cleaned the caliper bracket and the sliding pins, and I did not lubricate them as the Bently instructs. Some DIY's that I just found recommend using anti sieze as a lubricant on the 2 pins and where the caliper slides on the bracket. What is the Mafia's thoughts on this? Is the lubricant a good thing that will promote even brake wear, or will it attract dirt and cause parts to bind? Thanks

Ed

static667
09-13-2011, 07:09 AM
I've never used any lubricant on those parts before. They always seemed to move fine for me. Personally, unless they were sticking, I'd leave them alone.

Sent from my rooted Fascinate using Tapatalk.

danewilson77
09-13-2011, 07:13 AM
The caliper slide pins should be lubricated.

az3579
09-13-2011, 07:44 AM
The caliper slide pins should be lubricated.

Bentley specifically says not to lubricate. I also found that lubricating it creates a huge mess, as I had to deal with this past Sunday. When I did the brakes on the E30 way back when, I didn't lube the pins and it was fine.

So, I'm no longer sure which bit of info to believe as now there's conflicting info...

What would you lubricate it with, DW? Any particular product? I would think it would have to be a product that wouldn't allow the pins to come loose...

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

danewilson77
09-13-2011, 08:14 AM
.........and I did not lubricate them as the Bently instructs.

Bentley specifically says not to lubricate. I also found that lubricating it creates a huge mess, as I had to deal with this past Sunday. When I did the brakes on the E30 way back when, I didn't lube the pins and it was fine.

So, I'm no longer sure which bit of info to believe as now there's conflicting info...