View Full Version : Fuel additives?

HokieZHP
10-25-2011, 08:55 AM
Do any of you use fuel additives? Performance or just for smoother operation. My roommate uses an octane booster in his sport bike and I became curious. I've never used any additive before and wanted to get your thoughts on it.

danewilson77
10-25-2011, 09:00 AM
I will run a bottle of the STP fuel injector cleaner through the tank every now and then.

Go Horns!
10-25-2011, 09:01 AM
I've used the Redline Fuel system cleaner http://www.amazon.com/Red-Line-60103-System-Cleaner/dp/B000CPI5Z0

Used it in both my Tahoe and the ZHP. Didn't notice any difference in mpg.

HokieZHP
10-25-2011, 09:12 AM
I'm thinking of running some sea foam through my car here shortly and then I may try out an octane booster just for the hell of it.

Would sea foam be my best bet for a injector cleaner and for freshening up the engine?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Johnmadd
10-25-2011, 09:15 AM
I used to use outlaw octane booster in my e30, I thought I noticed a little bit more aggressive acceleration when floored, and I floor it all the time in that car. Lucas fuel treatment is a good product for keeping things running smooth, it is also the only one I know of that has an upper cylinder lubricant.

aurelius
10-25-2011, 09:49 AM
LiquiMoly. German. Great stuff.

Jectron and Valve Clean (2 separate products) are available at some NAPA stores. $8.50 for the pair.

If you can't find it locally, BavAuto sells it but you may want to invoke their low price guarantee.

HokieZHP
10-25-2011, 09:52 AM
Liquimoly is good stuff. I forgot about that. I used that in my TDI jetta a couple times.

danewilson77
10-25-2011, 10:12 AM
Liquimoly is good stuff. I forgot about that. I used that in my TDI jetta a couple times.

Available on line only?

mikeyb74
10-25-2011, 10:21 AM
LiquiMoly. German. Great stuff.

Jectron and Valve Clean (2 separate products) are available at some NAPA stores. $8.50 for the pair.