PDA

View Full Version : yet another minor disaster...

webster
02-27-2013, 12:22 PM
so this morning i come out to my car (parked on the street in my neighborhood) and find my drivers side mirror hanging by nothing but the ribbon cable against the door, completely broken off of the baseplate. there are a few scuffs on the door paint as well from the mirror hitting it. since i obviously could not drive the car with the mirror hanging down the door i had to sever the ribbon cable entirely (bummer, but it was already torn probably 85%). the weird thing is the glass and mirror housing are still in tact, basically scratch free...so it doesn't seem like a car struck the mirror, probably some random twat on a bicycle smacking it.

so i called my shop and had them order a new mirror motor since the ribbon is now completely ripped off. the only silver lining i'm trying to find in this is that i will now have my shop put in the M3 mirrors i've been sitting on for over 6 months now.

here's what it looks like now
http://i52.tinypic.com/zipx80.jpg

arghh...i just can't win with this car lately.

as of today i am NEVER street parking in my neighborhood again. going to have a sit down meeting with my neighbors today (they reside on the lower level of a 2-family converted mansion-to-duplex) to discuss starting to actually use the driveway and 2 car garage we have that has heretofore been used solely for storage (which is ridiculous in a 4000 sq ft home with a 70 ft driveway).

man, sometimes people really suck.

Johnmadd
02-27-2013, 12:41 PM
Damn. Could have been drunk teens maybe?

llll1l1ll
02-27-2013, 12:48 PM
My coworker had someone key his hood two nights ago. All the other cars in the neighborhood were affected. It was likely a random act of vandalism.

JupiterBMW
02-27-2013, 12:50 PM
Sorry to hear, absolutely no reason for this kind of stuff.

fredo
02-27-2013, 01:36 PM
Sorry to hear the news. Hope you can park on the driveway soon.

BRGcoopahS
02-27-2013, 01:41 PM