Materials to Maintain Your ZHP IIIII Hand Protection IIIII Tools to Maintain Your ZHP

Cool BMW ISTA/D ISTA/P GEN3 Diagnostic software information (input wanted)

I am working to assemble the information/ files to build a standalone ISTA/D and ISTA/P machine, allowing me full dealership diagnostic and programming ability.

I am not a computer wiz, I am a mechanic. If anything I type here sounds retarded, it's because it is. I can use a computer as it was intended and I can code HTML and some Basic C, but other then that, I'm done. I don't know that much about ports, usable vs actual ram and all that good stuff. My learning curve looks about like climbing El Capitan, but that said, I will do my best.

I have spent months learking on bmwcoders and various other European message boards trying to procure a DIY to install the software/ setup the interface.

I have found that there are two options for an ISTA setup: 1) Setup a virtual machine on VMWare Fusion and build the correct ports etc into your virtual machine or 2) Build a machine that boots into xp then directly into ISTA, giving you a true 'native' install.

There is enough information on the VMWare install that I could put one together, but I don't want to fight the speed (read: lack of) of VMWare, even booting from a SSD. I want to build a native ISTA machine, running in offline mode. I can buy one for $1500-$2000, but I can buy the computers which most indidviduals base them off of for less then $250, and the software can be acquired with some patience.

Has anyone else researched this? Has anyone come across a true list of what the hardware requirements for ISTA are?

Thoughts, ideas and wisdom are greatly appreciated as there is little to no information oline about this, and from what I have found, it takes a computer science degree to make this happen.

BP?

Sounds like fun.

Sent from the HTC DNA, Williamsburg, VA and USA